Posted by: greercn | February 3, 2010

DVD Binge

Few of the current crop of new movie releases excite me. So I went to HMV and Blockbuster, to see what’s out on DVD. I was confronted by rows of movies I have seen, most of which I remember clearly and don’t wish to see again.

Fortunately, my tastes are wide enough that there are movies that are new to me . There are also films I want to see again. “The Boat That Rocked”, about the early days of pirate radio ships in 1966, is something I really wanted to see last spring, but nobody else wanted to come with me. I should have gone by myself. The friend I watched it with agreed that it’s good fun and features gorgeous performances from Bill Nighy, Rhys Ifans and Philip Seymour Hoffman. In this super ensemble cast, Kenneth Branagh, Emma Thompson, Nick Frost, Talulah Riley, January Jones and Gemma Arterton are all wonderful.

It’s a fun script, with amazing set pieces paying homage to other movies and it has giggles galore. The soundtrack is really glorious and if you are of a certain age, you’ll know all the words and smile with happy memories.

The fun wit and depth of “He’s Just Not That Into You” took me by surprise. I thought this would be a teen movie – but it isn’t. It’s for everyone who has ever been  burned by love and it has equally pointed messages for women and men. It’s for everyone who ever deluded themselves or got hurt, in love.

I am not a Jennifer Aniston fan, but she’s wonderful in this. Again, the whole cast sparkles and Ginnifer Goodwin and Scarlett Johansson deserve special mentions but far and away the best is Justin Long, as a nightclub manager turned love guru telling us about what men honestly think and feel. Okay, it’s very American, but the message is there for everyone. It entertains and rolls along at a wonderful pace.

Heck, I almost (but not quite) understand the point of Ben Affleck. How did I miss both these treats? One is very British (and, therefore, not really for girls at all) and one is very American  (and, therefore, annoyingly cute at times) but both movies had me rolling on the floor with laughter. And the humour in both is the greatest gift of all.

Responses

  1. You sum up the merits of ‘he’s just not that into you’ very well. If it has helped you then I am in support of it. Ben affleck is unfortunately boring to look at, the rest of the male cast were ugly. The only non-annoying female was played by aniston. I am lucky enough perhaps to not understand the background ideas at all, same goes for the other punter i was with, but there were definately some funny lines. I could have watched it all though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

