Posted by: greercn | February 26, 2012

Rampart

I was all psyched up to see “The Muppets” and that will happen. But – for good reasons – I ended up seeing “Rampart” which stars Woody Harrelson.

Woody was the weakest link in “Cheers”, my second favourite sitcom after “MASH”. He curdled the bar with his stupidity and I always wonder if this is the real Woody, or just a reasonable facsimile.

He has put in a lot of strong performances since those days and he lifted “Zombieland”.

So, should you see this?

Yes, if you love Film Noir in its many incarnations. James Ellroy has written cracking dialogue for this and it takes me back to the glory days of “The Black Dahlia”.

Yet – I sat in the back row, for a change, and the young men all fell asleep.

I am suggestible yet I stayed awake.

There are lots of glorious performances here. Sigourney Weaver is fabulous and Cynthia Nixon finally shakes off the ghost of “Sex and the City”. Steve Buscemi, Ned Beatty and Ben Foster all put in star turns.

And Anne Heche and the luminous Robin Wright are both gorgeous and terrific.

For me, Ice Cube steals the whole movie.

The plot? Dirty cop Dave Brown is on his final warning. It’s Los Angeles in 1999 (saving us from pesky phones and internet and computers and 9/11).

An incident shakes up Dave’s world. Will his career survive?

It’s the detail that draws you in, or not. So much smoking cigarettes! So much drinking. So many people urging Dave to  eat!

For me, it worked. Most of the Stratford Picturehouse audience seemed restless and unamused.

Adoring film noir will assist you in enjoying this. And, if you have any knowledge of LA neighbourhoods, that willl help, too. I will buy the DVD, if only because I remain puzzled by it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

