Posted by: greercn | February 27, 2012

The Muppets

It’s time to play the music. It’s time to light the lights. It’s time to meet the Muppets. Why don’t we get things started?

These joyfully sung phrases used to start the half hour of pure fun known as “The Muppet Show”.

I am more than a little in love with Kermit the Frog and Miss Piggy. Indeed, I regard Miss Piggy as the best possible role model.  I would happily buy a perfume designed by her. Okay, maybe I wouldn’t go that far.

Let’s just say that my critical faculties are nil on this subject. “The Rainbow Connection” moves me, whenever I hear it. Animal, the Swedish Chef and Statler and Waldorf are heroes. I may aspire to be Miss Piggy, but I suspect that I am Fozzie Bear.

“Man or Muppet” won the 2012 Oscar for best song and it is very lovely.

In this film, The Muppet Theatre is under threat from greedy oil man Tex Richman, played with a sneer by Chris Cooper. The Muppets need to raise $10 million. With the help of Gary (Jason Segel) and Mary (Amy Adams) and new Muppet Walter (voiced by Peter Linz), the plan is to find the dispersed Muppets and reunite them to save the day.

It’s a Walt Disney film, so you can guess the rest. The process of extracting Animal from anger management with Jack Black (Animal’s trigger word is “drums”) and getting Miss Piggy away from Vogue magazine in Paris (where she is plus size editor) provides a lot of laughter.

A great charm of the original show was the mix of puppets and people. The new movie succeeds in hitting the same spot.

Walter is a terrific addition to the Muppet family of characters and his search for purpose and meaning – embodied in “Man or Muppet” – will touch fans.

Although billed as a family movie, I am not sure this will reach all children. Kids who like “Hugo” and “Rango” will enjoy it, but there was a certain restlessless  at the Stratford Picturehouse from children who are more used to action-packed movies. The gentle pace here will bore those who have a low attention span.

Oh boy, was it cold in the cinema! Fortunately, the movie is warming.

I wish I hadn’t been sitting near the noisiest family in the universe. She couldn’t stay off her phone, he chewed popcorn louder and with more mess and spray than I would have thought possible and the kiddies just could not shush at all. Fortunately, I was able to shut them out. Why do people spend money to go to the cinema when they can’t be bothered to watch the film?

Ah, well. It’s a terrific movie. If you love Muppets, it’s for you. If there is no place in your life for sentiment and Disney values, just stay away until you develop a heart and soul.

Responses

  1. Talking, being noisy or disruptive and/or making use of your mobile phone during a film in a cinema is rude with a large helping of inconsiderate. Kids making a noise I can understand if they are young, but I’ve seen parents taking noisy 4 or 5 year old kids who clearly didn’t have the attention span for the film being shown, which isn’t big or clever. By the time a child is old enough to get into a 12A film on their own, he or she is old enough to know how to behave in cinema.

  2. I have a blog made with Blogger and it has Blogger logos at the top.. I’ve seen Blogger blogs without them, and it makes them a lot cooler..


Leave a Reply

Categories

