Posted by: greercn | May 8, 2012

Wrath of the Titans (BFI IMAX)

I grew up loving tales of classical mythology. Zeus and the whole gang of lofty Olympians thrilled me.  I recognised that these were stories that were meant to push people to be their best, while warning about risks human beings faced.

So “Clash of the Titans” and “Wrath of the Titans” were movies I had to see. In these cynical times, corny battles between good and evil give us simplicity and a whole bunch of entertainment.

I jumped at the chance to watch  “Wrath” at the British Film Institute’s glorious IMAX cinema, near Waterloo station in London, England.

I had never been here before. What an experience this venue provides!

For starters, the seats are unbelievably comfortable with huge amounts of room. It’s rare that I have so much space and that was relaxing.

But the star is the screen, which makes you really see the point of 3D.

The quality of the effects comes to life and there are so many times that you feel you are part of the action. Flying horses soar! Burning bits swoosh around you. When the earth shakes and moves, you look a little nervously at your feet.

The creatures in this and in “Clash” are just amazing. You don’t need to see “Clash” to enjoy  the sequel “Wrath” as it stands alone quite nicely.

You want the plot? Really, it’s not a necessary part of the experience.

Perseus is living quietly, bringing up his son in a small village. His wife has died. Zeus is Perseus’ dad and he’s in trouble. The bad gods are trying to take over the powers of the good gods.

That’s about it. You get to see lots of battles.

Liam Neeson, Ralph Fiennes and Bill Nighy do their best to lift their scenes. Edgar Ramirez and Toby Kebbell are good. Director Jonathan Liebesman keeps the action moving along quickly and I didn’t look at my watch once.

Sam Worthington as Perseus and Rosamund Pike as Andromeda give weaker performances, but people here are secondary to effects. I’d quite like the Andromeda outfit, for parties.

Everything here looks stylish and you won’t be bored. My companion doesn’t normally like this type of film, but she thoroughly enjoyed it, as did I.

As a side note, the snacks and drinks come in a wide range of choices and are high quality and not overly expensive, by cinema standards.

I won’t be buying the DVD as this works best on a big screen. But I would recommend that you see anything you can at the BFI IMAX. It’s expensive, but worth it because it’s just magical.

Responses

  1. I have to agree that the venue is excellent. The one and only time I’ve seen a film at the BFI IMAX theatre was for a big screen film, Watchmen, which was a spectacular experience. 🙂

    I enjoyed Wrath a lot – it’s a great eye-popping sword-and-sandles film (a genre that’s not been very fashionable of late) that’s heavy on the action and light on the plot. I didn’t get around to seeing Clash when it came out at the time, but that didn’t detract from seeing the second one at all.

  2. Thanks, David! It’s true that this type of film, with traditional weapons, is rare now. I think one of the things I liked about this is it reminded me of the big epic films of my youth.

    • Fashions come and go, in cinema just as much as anywhere else. There was a huge glut of such films in the 50s and 60s from both Hollywood and Italian production companies, then had a resurgence with Conan the Barbarian amongst others in the 80s… and it seems like they’re coming back once more.

  3. I think this is a good resurgence! But, hey, that’s just me. I like the homage to those older films, while the 3D and creatures lifts it to a modern context. Thank you, David, for a comment that made me think – and seek out Conan!

    • The two 80s Conan films are very much beer-and-pretzels flicks, although both have film scores by Basil Poledouris, which is no bad thing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

