Posted by: greercn | August 23, 2013

The Lone Ranger

I nearly skipped seeing this, because the Lone Ranger and Tonto were such formative parts of my childhood that I feared having that early and thrilling memory tampered with.

Further, I don’t care for Armie Hammer, Johnny Depp and Ruth Wilson and they are everywhere and in every scene during this marathon 150-minute VERY LONG movie.

Every portent was negative. Then, a couple of discerning friends said they had really enjoyed it. So, I changed my mind and saw it.

I am so very glad I did. This is one of the best Westerns ever, with modern resonance and an entirely new spin on the series so many of us older folks enjoyed as kiddies.

Tonto is telling his story to a young lad, many years after the central events described in the film. The Comanches are the good guys and the bad guys are the rampaging and profit-hungry capitalists building the railroad.

For comic relief, there’s Helena Bonham Carter playing the usual Goth/raunchy lady of dubious morals, but with great heart compared to the evil bad guys.

Jerry Bruckheimer and Gore Verbinski brought us the “Pirates of the Caribbean” franchise and they know how to make long movies move along at a snappy pace.

So, all in all, I enjoyed this and the attention of the Stratford East Picturehouse audience didn’t wander, despite the length of time spent watching.

A modern spin on history and a new imaging of the Western are most welcome. All three of the leads are very good, although I am not sure the cod philosophy and fake spirituality would stand up to a second viewing.

See “The Lone Ranger”. But once will be quite enough.

Responses

  1. Thanks, Greer…I really enjoyed The Lone Ranger, too, finding myself laughing and having a grand time throughout this very campy story. Just don’t hold too tightly to the original and see it for a bit of escapist fun–enjoy!

  2. Hi Greer. I hate films over 2 hours and shared your apprehension as I didn’t think anyone could outdo Jay Silverheels. How wrong. I wanted to stand up and cheer when finally, the Overture music started for the final rumble. Beautifully shot in the oh-so-familiar canyons of Monument Valley with a final fight on rails that outdoes Indiana Jones!

  3. For me, this just felt like a bit of a bore. And that’s not me having a prior-problem with Depp or Hammer, I just didn’t like the film’s overall, joyless look and feel to it all. Good review Greer.

  4. I expected to dislike it as I loved the characters when I was a child. Yes, this film can be a little too serious. But I thoroughly enjoyed the mischievous humour and the characters. I am a sucker for trains! Thank you for the very different and interesting comments!


Leave a Reply

Categories

