Posted by: greercn | April 19, 2014

The Raid 2

There is no place here for girls, unless you like mindless action movies. I do enjoy films that look stunning and disengage my brain. I felt most old, watching this and I was the only woman there. I guess I am just very in touch with my inner teenage boy.

“The Raid” (2011) sprang out of nowhere and was a very enjoyable thriller. Violent, unrelenting and packed full of great-looking men, it grabbed my attention. I went to see it again.

But I had no expectations going to that movie. My expectations for “2” were very high.

The sequel starts minutes after the ending of the first movie. With a twisting and complex plot, it moves around Jakarta, Indonesia whereas its predecessor stayed in one high-rise block.

But this isn’t really about corruption, prison, gang bosses or characters. It’s an enormously long film (150 minutes) of masterclasses in martial arts. All of these are dazzling and – really – don’t try any of this at home.

Gareth Evans directs with his usual flair for the visceral. I have no idea if the English subtitles are good or not. Indonesian is outside my language skills. Certainly, when the characters were very sweary, the “f” word and others appeared in English on screen.

Bad people, language and behaviour abounds. The music and look of it are engaging.

If you loved the first one, you’ll love this too. And there’s a third one in the works, so this story will be continued.

The Stratford East Picturehouse was full of very happy young men. Truly, I enjoyed it. But it’s not for everyone – don’t take your granny unless that’s me – and it earns its 18 certificate in the first seconds of the film.

Responses

  1. This movie is awesome! Heck, I’d even say better than the first, if only because the story actually feels more detrimental to the action this time around. Good review Greer.

  2. True! The story managed to live up to my expectations which were that it would move forward the action. I fear that watching a lot of movies is making me into a teenage boy. On the plus side, it’s all fun. Thanks for the comment and I learned from your review!


Leave a Reply

Categories

