Posted by: greercn | May 28, 2014

12 Years A Slave

Painful to watch, brilliant and a true work of art, “12 Years A Slave” is the single most significant film ever made about the history of slavery in the USA.

To see these events from the point of view of a black man is very powerful. Usually, we see the “good white people” and the “bad white people” as the centre of focus.

Chiwetel Ejiofur gives a powerful and physical performance as Solomon Northup. Northup’s astonishing true story, of being born a free man who is sold into slavery, makes an enthralling read. As a movie, the visual images will always stay with you.

Lupita Nyong’s deserves every award she has won.

I recommend that people see this with someone else. There are moments that will choke you. Viewers of a very sensitive disposition should just stay away.

Having now seen the film three times, it’s worth several repeated viewings. It deserves its Best Movie Oscar.

Steve McQueen is an artist and he brings the same acute visual sensibility to this that he brought to “Hunger” and “Shame”.

I couldn’t publish this review when I saw the movie as I believed that white people had no right to comment on it. Now it’s out on DVD, I would urge you to buy it and watch it.

Responses

  1. Yeah, this was a rough watch. But I think it totally needed to be, just in order to get its point and its vision across a whole lot more effectively. Good review Greer.

  2. Thanks for the great comment! It’s a very impressive film and I get emotional each time I see it. It’s so moving.

  3. […] Read more here: 12 Years A Slave […]

  4. Funnily enough I found the most moving bit right at the very end. After seeing two hours of relentless brutality, violence, and all of the very worst of human nature, I think it was the sheer contrast, not to mention monumental relief, that catching just a few seconds of that little baby that really effected me. I cried tears of joy over that baby as if it were my own!

    • That’s a very moving scene. Thank you for the thoughtful comment!

    • And those last scenes pack a lot of power in them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

