Posted by: greercn | June 17, 2014

Jersey Boys


Dear Clint Eastwood,
You were my first serious crush, when you were Rowdy Yates in “Rawhide”. Truly, I have loved you through the westerns, all of Dirty Harry and I follow your stellar directing career. I avidly await each new and brave choice. Really, I adore you.
“Gran Torino” is just terrific. “Letters From Iwo Jima” is the best war movie. “Hereafter” is moving and epic.
I feel certain that if we ever met, you would love me as I have loved you, all these long and unrequited years.
Clint, are you testing me?
“Jersey Boys” is one of my most-loved musicals. Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons performed the soundtrack of my childhood and those songs still make me smile.
So why is this film such a mess?
The young actors are unknown to me, but they are all clearly talented.
Christopher Walken needs to do very little but be in the film to make me happy.
The trouble with “Jersey Boys” is that it can’t decide whether it wants to be a musical or a talkfest.
Too many people interrupt songs to explain what they are doing.
Why? Give us the whole song, please.
The dramatic scenes just didn’t make me feel much and I am close to tears when I see them in the stage version.
Clint, I feel our special bond is in danger.
What on earth were you thinking of, telling one of the most wonderful stories in such a curiously unengaging way?
Darling, you are on probation. Please, please do something else that delights me. Soon.
Love and hugs, always (but maybe not forever)
Greer xxxx

Leave a Reply

Categories

