Posted by: greercn | August 23, 2014

Hector And the Search For Happiness

Except for “Paul”, that loveable road trip with an alien being – and “24 Hour Party People”, I fail to enjoy Simon Pegg. He has that boyish charm that I hate. Laddish adolescent behaviour fails to amuse me, in movies and in real life.

Further, “Hector” had been described to me as similar to “Eat, Pray, Love” which is the movie I hate most in the whole world, ever.

Honestly, I hate very little other than rudeness, cruelty, warmongering and people who lie.

A guy who works at Stratford East Picturehouse caught be in an especially bad mood after “Expendables 3” (shudder; what’s expendable is the whole film) and he said he had really enjoyed “Hector”.

And so I went to see it and I really enjoyed it, too. Simon Pegg is meant to be annoying, in this part, so he’s an excellent choice.

Simon plays Hector, a psychiatrist who decides to travel and seek what makes people happy.

A lot of Hector’s travels reminded me of the bits of the recent “Walter Mitty” movie that I liked.

Rosamund Pike, Toni Collette and Christopher Plummer have glorious scenes that are fun to watch. Stellan Skargard and Jean Reno play memorable bad guys.

In smaller roles, Ming Zhao, Togo Igawa and Barry Atsma add breadth to the tale.

It’s all very English and understated. The script is funny and quirky and kept my attention. Americans, best skip this. It’s a pleasure for fans of lightly-worn irony.

Do see it and enjoy an intelligent romcom with broad and very British humour. The Stratford East Picturehouse audience all really liked it. It’s based on a book I will never read and neither will you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

