Posted by: greercn | September 20, 2014

Before I Go To Sleep

Moments of real suspense grab the viewer. Wow, you think, this is going to be “Memento” but classy.

Sadly, the early premise of the amnesiac who wakes up with no memory, day after day, becomes a tedious “Groundhog Day” with fewer laughs than either movie it reminds you of. Perhaps if I had forgotten those two vastly superior films with the same theme, I’d have enjoyed it more.

When did such downbeat movies become the norm? With Nicole Kidman (less annoying and whisper/whiny than usual), Colin Firth, Mark Strong and the ever-glorious Anne-Marie Duff, this is based on an “international, best-selling” novel and should be gripping.

I spotted the central big twist about 10 minutes in. If you don’t, you’ll get more than I did from this.

The Stratford East Picturehouse audience gasped at the right places. I kept peeking at my watch.

The Boy really liked it, but he’s a Nicole Kidman fan. “Before I Go To Sleep” left me fighting to stay awake. Still, it’s all stylish and sinister and better than many movies I have seen of late.

Leave a Reply

Categories

