Posted by: greercn | September 20, 2014

Bicycle

This delightful British documentary has an appeal for cyclists, but will warm everyone with its charm and style.

Three different strands are followed. The rather wonderful history of bicycle manufacture and design is fascinating. Recent Olympic victories have made us all more aware of excellence in the sport.

And stories of ordinary people and great champions are really wonderful and entertaining.

It’s the kind of unique and very English documentary that I adore, pulling me in with facts, feelings and individual tales of triumph and failure.

Stratford East Picturehouse ran a special screening. I had the great pleasure of spending time with producer Pip Piper. A lively audience question and answer session followed and I chaired it. I learned as much from the questions as I did from the answers.

See it. It will be out on DVD very soon. If you’re my friend, you may be getting this for Christmas. You can thank me then.

Leave a Reply

Categories

