Posted by: greercn | December 29, 2014

Top 10 of 2014

It was easy to reduce the list to 20, but much harder to come up with a top 10.

Whether you agree or disagree, the films that won were the ones that provided me with fun, thought and also made me want to see them again, immediately.

1) Paddington: It’s just so full of heart, soul, character and humour that I love it. Kids of all ages love it, too.

2) Guardians of the Galaxy: Marvel fans finally get a film that lives up to the comics. A science fiction film that’s easy to enjoy.

3) Pride: Modern history with a heart-warming plot abut tolerance and survival.

4) ’71: Jack O’Connell owns this film, playing a young soldier trapped in Belfast in 1971. Extraordinary and gripping.

5) The Grand Budapest Hotel: Wes Anderson’s most accessible film is full of silliness, shaggy dog stories and great performances.

6) Calvary: The second in an intelligent and warm-hearted trilogy can stand all by itself.

7) The Edge of Tomorrow: Mix Groundhog Day, sci-fi, war story and action.

8) The Imitation Game: World War 2 code-breaking and the fascinating story of Alan Turing.

9) All This Mayhem: A small Australian story about skateboarding that rivets your attention and packs a big punch.

10) Gone Girl: Hugely entertaining although I disliked it later. But every single frame grabbed me and held my attention.

Responses

  1. Thanks for posting, I didn’t get much chance for cinema this year, so will check these out on home media 😀

    Warm regards and happy new year

    D

    • And a Very Happy New Year to you. I love your inspiring quotes, beautiful photos and the warmth and support you offer other bloggers. Thank you so much for reblogging my top 10.

      • My pleasure 😀

      • I’ve been gradually working my way through … especially enjoyed ’71 and Pride, my favourites so far … both moving stories 🙂

      • I’m glad you enjoyed both. You’re right. They are both moving stories that feel like they bring a different perspective to modern history.

      • Something “real” the characters are living through – the complexities of being a human being … I find interesting, captivating and absorbing … and of course a good laugh doesn’t hurt !

        Historian, I am not 🙂

        Good blogs Greer …

  2. Reblogged this on Don Charisma and commented:
    I didn’t get much chance to go to cinema this year, so I want to check these out on home media … really appreciate the share greercn, saved me hours of wading through B, C and D grade zombies and flying sharks movies !
    Happy new year
    D

    • Thank you. I’ve added a link to your blog.

      • Thanks 😀

  3. I would like to add my thanks, because I can’t handle the sound level at the movie theaters. So much easier on my ear drums to rent the movie or check it out from the library later and watch it at home, without the eardrum splitting noise in the theaters. Don’t know what it’s like in UK, but here in USA the goal seems to be to deafen everyone in the country at the earliest age possible. I’m 72 and proud of it, and my hearing is still adequate without assistance of hearing aids, because I don’t turn the sound as high as it will go every time I play movies or music.

    • It’s not quite as big a problem in the UK as in the USA. I do notice just how loud movies are when I am in an American or Canadian cinemas and the Canadian movie theatres are nowhere near as loud as the American screenings. I don’t mind this as a one-off – at a music concert – but it is wearing, if it’s constant. I go to a smaller cinema here, usually and the volume is just fine. But in the bigger cinemas, it’s getting louder. I assume it’s meant to drown out the chatter of impolite moviegoers? Thanks for the comment and thanks for following me. Happy New Year to you.

  4. Hey – just found your blog through Don Charisma’s and went straight to your 2014 top 10. I’m embarrassed to say that the only one I’ve seen is The Grand Budapest Hotel which I thought was excellent. Looking forward to having a browse through the rest of your blog – thank you for writing 🙂

    • It’s my pleasure! Thank you for your comment and a Happy New Year to you. 🙂

  5. Thanks for the blog follow.!!!

    • You’re welcome. I enjoyed reading about your time in Mexico.

  6. I will keep in mind the review when having time to see all these movies.

    • Thank you!

  7. Reblogged this on hurdygurdygurl's Blog and commented:
    Checkout these top ten movies of 2014!

    • Thank you so much for the reblog. I appreciate it. I enjoy reading your blog.

      • You are welcome. Thanks for stopping by and saying hello. Come back soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

