Posted by: greercn | January 11, 2015

Birdman

Surreal, wordy and visually amazing, “Birdman” features a magnificent Michael Keaton in a storming performance guaranteed to move you.

Keaton plays a movie star who had a big hit with a super-hero franchise, but now longs for credibility on the stage in New York. As his on-screen daughter, Emma Stone is superb. Edward Norton and Lindsay Duncan are just two more brilliant actors in an extraordinary cast that manages a range that swings from pathos to scary to comic, all in one scene.

Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu is a genius and you either love the weird excesses of “Babel” and “Biutiful” or you don’t care for his peculiar yet unique vision. I appreciate his genius, but I remain puzzled and intrigued by what it all might mean. I know it’s meant to mean something grand, but I just get pulled along in the pretty pictures and I can’t figure it all out at all.

You will be talking about this for a long time to come. Know as little as possible going in, as you will get much more out of it if you haven’t read detailed reviews.

The Stratford East Picturehouse audience was wowed. Do see it, but prepare for long discussions about it afterwards.

Responses

  1. Good review Greer. It’s fun, exciting and wild, but when it slows everything down to focus on its characters, it still works just as well.

    • Thank you! Some of the wordy bits annoyed me, but the visuals lifted the whole to a sublime level.

  2. I LOVED this movie! Actors playing actors – brilliant. Birdman is the alter ego (don’t we all have one?). One aging actors’ final attempt to make meaning of his life but ultimately gives his life away (Not a Spolier alert!). And those drums…very NYC.

    • It stays in my head too. Bit of it irritated me – I spent too much of my youth amid the vagaries of theatre – but the images are beautiful and it’s visually stunning. An imaginative and glorious film. Keaton deserves the Oscar he will get. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  3. I liked this movie, and felt I “got” what it was about and the point of it … however coherently expressing that is another thing entirely !

    The “style” I found a bit unfamiliar, but put that down to “cultural differences” … for example I had to look up “Ju Ju Bees” from Avatar, but I guess all yanks know what they are …

    I did laugh a lot when he blew his own nose of for the sake of his art, that was a highlight …

    • Yes, I had to look that up, too. I enjoyed the mood of it and the visuals are impressive, Like you, I don’t pretend to understand all of it.

      • The best movies are like that … I have several favourites I’ve watched many times and each time get a new facet or angle that I hadn’t seen before 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

