Posted by: greercn | February 12, 2015

Selma

This perfect performance from David Oyelowo deserves an Oscar. As does Ava DuVernay’s direction of the marvelous movie “Selma”. It is weird that wasn’t even nominated.

Tom Wilkinson’s LBJ and Tim Roth’s George Wallace are career-defining turns and either would be worthy of Best Supporting Actor Oscars. Are memories of Ferguson too raw? Has Oscar gone mad?

It is notoriously difficult to film events that are known to older folks and seen regularly on YouTube by everyone. Yet within seconds, you forget that Oyelowo and Wilkinson are Brits.

Oprah Winfrey, Carmen Ojogo and Andre Holland are all wonderful in this. The whole ensemble is terrific.

After seeing this extraordinary film, I spent some time on Google maps exploring Selma, Alabama. I learned that Edmund Pettus – who gave is name to that iconic bridge crossed by Dr Martin Luther King and others marching for the right to vote – was a creature of his time. A judge and a Confederate general, he led the Alabama Ku Klux Klan.

Bearing in mind the tough issues of 1965 and of now, Paul Webb’s script rings true and flows well. The look of this, the music and the recreation of real events all have the power to shock the viewer, 50 years on.

Just go see it. The very-packed Screen 1 at the Stratford East Picturehouse was stunned and wowed, in equal measures.

Responses

  1. I had no plans of checking this movie out; however, my teenage son wants to see it (go figure). I think between his interest and your feedback, that I will check out movie times for this weekend. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

    • Thank you for the lovely comment! If I can get just one extra person to go see it, I’m pleased. It’s an amazing movie with real lessons for all of us, from history. And it’s truly moving and entertaining. Let me know what you both think about it, please.

      • My son and I went to check out Selma yesterday. We both enjoyed it very much. It made for a good discussion on the drive back home from comparing the past and the present and why are we not learning from history. It definitely gnaws at the emotion. From my son’s perspective, as a teenager, his feedback is that he is aware of the history, but there is something different in seeing it. He feels that people went through a lot to obtain equal rights and feels that his generation is detached from these sacrifices. Awesome movie…thank you for your review.

  2. That’s great. Thanks for letting me know. I feared it might be a movie for older people so I am thrilled when I hear about younger people understanding the importance of the history. Also, it’s a very entertaining, movie, so I hope that those who are new to the material may seek out more information. And those who think they know all about the history may be pushed to more research and thought. Thanks for an uplifting comment!


Leave a Reply

Categories

