Posted by: greercn | November 5, 2015

The Lobster

That iconic Surrealist image of Salvador Dali’s use of a lobster on a telephone may get stuck in your head.

Yorgos Lanthimos made “Alps” and “Dogtooth” so you are back in his familiar but weird territory of alternative families, odd animals and bending of truths.

A star-studded cast including Colin Farrell, Rachel Weisz, Lea Seydoux, Olivia Colman and Ben Whishaw lead this. Did this get made before or after “SPECTRE”? I have this odd and amusing image in my head of Lea Seydoux and Ben Whishaw sitting around with Daniel Craig (who is married to Rachel Weisz) all trying to figure out what “The Lobster” might mean.

We are in a dystopian future. People need to be in couples, or they will be turned into the animal of their choice. They are on a timer, in their quest for a mate and in a nice hotel. We get lots of glimpses of the gorgeous Kerry, Ireland coast.

The first sequence of a woman getting out of a car and killing a donkey is over quickly and never referred to again. Jacqueline Adams is the actress and the production designer of this film.

The hotel sequences are fun and pull you in.

Then, you are in the city and in the forest and that’s about when I started looking at my watch. As for the ending – I won’t spoil it for you – it’s beyond surreal and into the land of puzzling.

Yes, it’s a work of great art. Yes, all the performers are fantastically committed to looking weird, acting oddly and delivering their peculiar lines with gusto.

There is depth here, but I have no idea what it is. I am off to look at Dali images and going to try and figure it all out.

Or, I may go out for a drink.

My Very Intelligent Friend was as puzzled as I was. Oh, he had theories. I have theories.

Stratford East Picturehouse was very full and I tried to listen to conversation afterwards, in the hope of enlightenment. But all they were talking about was how Colin Farrell didn’t look as pretty as he usually does.

I’m just off to seek out a nice romcom and ease my brain. Anyone who has any sensible idea of what on earth “The Lobster” might mean, please get in touch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

