Posted by: greercn | December 28, 2015

Top 10 Movies of 2015

So many terrific movies wowed me, in 2015.

Either “Birdman” or “Whiplash” could have made this list. But they are from 2014, although I saw them in 2015.

That’s also true of “Selma”. Anyone interested in civil rights should see this magnificent work of love.

Reducing the list to 28 films was tough enough. But here goes. This is my list of the 10 movies I enjoyed most in 2015.

1) The Martian. So much here is original and evocative. Matt Damon leads a fine cast in an excellent and well-researched story of space travel and survival.

2) Bridge of Spies. Steven Spielberg has made a wonderful movie about a true Cold War tale. The 1962 details are terrific. Tom Hanks and Mark Rylance give excellent performances, as do many others.

3) X + Y. It’s a beautiful story of mathematics, genius, ability and disability.

4) Dope. Wickedly funny, full of swearing and casual drug use. But just glorious and entertaining.

5) Sicario: Denis Villeneuve’s movie is about the FBI’s war on drugs and the bad guys are Mexican criminals. Emily Blunt is great. It moves along swiftly and is very gripping, although I didn’t like some of the casual cultural stereotypes.

6) Inside Out. Brilliant animation and giving form to emotions make this feel different and engrossing.

7) Mad Max: Fury Road. I loved those old movies, but Tom Hardy and this cast make this very special. Extraordinary action sequences.

8) Carol. Based on a Patricia Highsmith novel. It conjures up the suppression of lesbian love in the late 1950s. Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara are brilliant in Todd Haynes’ best film ever.

9) The Falling. Carol Morley is an artist and this story is about a wave of illness at a boarding school. Utterly beautiful to watch.

10) Grandma: Lily Tomlin is funny, moving and astonishingly good as the lesbian grandmother who visits her past to help her granddaughter.

Just failing to make the cut, but still worth watching are “Inherent Vice”, “Dark Horse: The Incredible True Story of Dream Alliance”, “Chappie”, “The Walk”, “Ex Machina” and “Furious 7”.

I also loved “Minions”, “Spy”, “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” and “Jurassic World”.

And my two guilty pleasures are “Sisters” and “Scouts’ Guide To The Zombie Apocalypse”.

Responses

  1. Thanks for posting Greer, again you’ve surpassed yourself for 2015, many films I haven’t seen here and will watch just as soon as I can 🙂 Last year’s list you posted gave me several NEW favourites which I may never have seen without your help …

    Happy 2016

  2. Reblogged this on Don Charisma and commented:
    Thanks for posting Greer, last year’s list gave me several NEW favourite movies, so really appreciate you taking the time to separate the wheat from the chaff, a very valuable resource 🙂

  3. Thank you, Don. I love your blog. 🙂

  4. Great list! I’m curious: Did you see “Room”?

    • I only just saw it, this week. I love the two leading performances and I thought it had a lot of great visuals and words. I am yet to blog on it, but I thought it was very original.


Leave a Reply

Categories

