Posted by: greercn | May 20, 2016

Captain America: Civil War

Beware films bearing colons.

Marvel movies are usually terrific. This downbeat tale has super moments, but its bloated 147-minute length outstays its welcome by about 25 minutes. Many of my friends love it and believe it is the best Marvel film ever made.

But I need to make a confession. I fell asleep. Twice. Only for a few minutes, but that means my emotions were never engaged.

And they get engaged by some really awful movies. I was not tired, although I felt exhausted by the end of this film.

There is just too much going on here, for me. The Avengers are asking themselves questions. Brought to heel for causing death, they are going to be accountable to the United Nations.

Cue more explosions and more needless deaths, the viewer gets an enormous amount of 3D and CGI. And the mandatory Stan Lee cameo is rather wonderful as he asks for Tony Stank and not Stark.

It’s a pity it comes so late in the tale.

Captain America and Iron Man fall out. This requires an astonishing amount of special effects. The stand out performances are by Chadwick Boseman, Elizabeth Olsen, Anthony Mackie, Tom Holland and Paul Rudd.

Members of the audience at Stratford East Picturehouse wandered in and out, buying popcorn and soft drinks. I am not clear whether they shared my frustration and irritation at this tale or whether they’d have done that anyway. I wandered out once, which is as unheard of as falling asleep twice in a movie is, for me.

Why do so many people like this? Please, enlighten me.

Responses

  1. It bored me senseless. I struggled after an hour.

    • Thank you for your comment. I am so grateful it isn’t just me. It’s you and me and a few others.

      • Likewise! I thought it was just me.

  2. It’s good to share these doubts when so many are positive about it. For me, the best scenes were the Stan Lee cameo and the Spiderman scenes. Alas, these were all too brief.

  3. https://sindenlee3.wordpress.com/ /05/30/561/?preview=true I have nominated you as a awesome blogger.

  4. Thank you so much! x


Leave a Reply

Categories

