Posted by: greercn | October 3, 2016

Bridget Jones’s Baby

Unexpectedly deep and quite dark, at times, this is very funny but challenging to watch.

It’s almost as though youthful romps are out of fashion and hard times cause more provocative plot strands.

Bridget is slim and works in TV. Forget about the books. Bridget is back, but not as you knew and loved her. Of course, she is still adorable.

Renee Zellweger plays Bridget again and Colin Firth is Mark Darcy. New here is Patrick Dempsey, who plays a love interest and a dating guru.

Gemma Jones and Jim Broadbent are Bridget’s parents. Emma Thompson is hilarious as the doctor. It’s great to see Neil Pearson, Celia Imrie and Sarah Solemani.

Singer Ed Sheeran features in a very funny scene.

And if you’re mourning the loss of Hugh Grant, he actually does feature in two very unexpected places.

It surprised me that the men at Stratford East Picturehouse loved it just as much as the women did.

You won’t regret seeing this. But be prepared that it may provoke a few dark thoughts, if you have such depths.

Responses

  1. Thoroughly enjoyed it, even without having seen the previous two.

    • It’s interesting to watch and great fun.

  2. Interesting! I’ll be seeing this movie tomorrow. Prepared for darkness!

    • Let me know what you think of it.

    • It is good fun! Just be prepared for some aged actors πŸ˜‰

      • Aging sucks! Unless you’re wine…

      • Well…some actors have aged very well. In fact, some of them have become better looking with age. There’s someone I just thought this about the other day…but forgot the name. Will tell you when I remember. Have an awesome day further!

      • Meryl Streep ages very well indeed!

      • Getting older happens to all of us. It’s good to see a movie that features older actors having fun. And the alternative to getting older is dying young, which isn’t much fun. Thank you for the comments! πŸ™‚

      • And boy do they have fun! There was such a great dynamic. I didn’t mean “aged actors” in a negative way – it really was just a surprise because I think we all have them in the Bridget Jones Diary mind. Can’t believe time has flown so quickly.

  3. I just watched this yesterday. Oh I had such a laugh (as did the other 3 ladies in the cinema…yes, was sadly, or thankfully, only 4 of us). I went in very nervous and with no expectations of anything good…glad I went in that way because I was so pleasantly surprised. To be honest, I think it speaks to the same generation that watched the first one on the big screen – if I was a teenager now, I don’t think I’d genuinely understand what Bridget goes through in this version (I may be wrong though). Actually, I think this is the best of the three. Emma Thompson was just lovely!

  4. Emma Thompson is very good in this. It’s a great set of actors and a well-written script.

  5. I am surprised by how many men I know say they really enjoyed this movie. I would have thought it was aimed at women, but even men who haven’t seen the first two Bridget Jones films tell me they really liked this.


Leave a Reply

Categories

