Posted by: greercn | November 23, 2016

Arrival

Amy Adams gives the best performance of the year as a linguist who is called on to communicate with aliens.

Denis Villeneuve makes extraordinary and original films and “Arrival” highlights communication, nationalism and paranoia. All of this feels relevant to our troubled times.

The less you know about the story going in, the better off you will be. You should experience the shock, awe and twists of this without background information.

Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker stand out in a great cast.

Ted Chiang’s amazing “Story of Your Life” won a bunch of awards in 1999 and 2000. I am sorry I read it then as it meant I knew too much about the story, going in.

That meant I could concentrate on Amy Adam’s mesmeric control of the screen. She is truly extraordinary.

It was filmed in locations in Quebec that I know well, and that enhanced my enjoyment. One of my friends noticed that the academic office of the linguist in the film is a bit light on books, compared to my linguist father’s former office. Fair enough, but nobody ever had as many books as my dad. Not even me.

Go see it. Everyone at Stratford East Picturehouse adored it. And so did I.

Leave a Reply

Categories

