Posted by: greercn | March 9, 2017

Logan

“Logan” is a really excellent film. Hugh Jackman plays Logan/Wolverine with grace and style and lifts this far above its Marvel Comics origin.

It’s a thoughtful story about getting older and protecting those you love. It feels like a fantastic old Western and, indeed, the main characters are shown watching “Shane”.

James Mangold directs and co-writes and it’s deep and original to watch.

In 2029, Logan, Professor X/Charles Xavier (Patrick Stewart) and Logan are living off-grid, in Mexico. Few mutants remain. Caliban (Stephen Merchant) looks after them.

A young girl, Laura (Dafne Keen) needs help. Will she get to where she needs to be? Or, will the bad guys catch her and kill her?

The road trip part of this is just delightful to watch. All 137 minutes whizzed by and left me longing for more.

It’s very violent and the first word is the “F” word. There’s a lot of swearing.

But it’s the most satisfying and thoughtful Marvel movie I have ever seen. Even those who are unfamiliar with the characters and do not share my affection for Marvel will find much to love.

Hugh Jackman is in almost every scene and he carries this exceptionally well. He ought to get an Oscar nomination for this extraordinary performance.

There is no Stan Lee cameo and there’s no teaser trailer, after the credits, so don’t wait for either of those.

Responses

  1. It’s the right swan song for Jackman. Nice review.

    • Thank, Dan. Hopefully, it’s not a swan song for Jackman but it probably is for Logan. Although it wouldn’t be the first time a character came back from beyond…

  2. Some of my co-workers were talking about the movie so I was curious about your review. I probably won’t see this one do to the violent content. I love some movies where Hugh Jackman has starred in, my favourite he has starred in is Kate and Leopold. I have watched this movie many, many times.

    I appreciate your honesty in your writing in regards to content ratings. It will have me returning to your blog in the future to find movies that would or would not coincide with my viewing enjoyment.

    Much respect,

    Carl

    • Thank you for following me and for your kind words about my reviews. I am enjoying your writing. I do try hard to give an honest opinion with no spoilers and to give some idea of the content. A lot of my friends have children and grandchildren and I want them to know whether the film is suitable for family viewing, or not. And I accept that many of the movies I see now have quite a lot of swearing and violence and many of my friends would wish to avoid these.

      • And I do appreciate your honest opinions and with no spoilers. Thank you for your kind words on my writing, and thank you also for the follow! 🙂

  3. Hello greercn ,yes I agree

  4. Although action movies for the most part are a common accept genre,I personally feel a departure for Jackman in this film would have done his career some good. Being dubbed as the definitive character in a series is a risk and could alter his image for his career.The batman franchise is the current for runner for this practice and yet we mention them all the time. Take a break Jackman and greercn,good review.Thanks.

    • Thanks for the comments! I think Hugh Jackman moves up a gear for this film and makes it really special. So long as you can handle the swearing and violence, it’s a great movie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

