Posted by: greercn | May 20, 2017

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Everyone is back and a whole load of new characters join this. You may get confused as you attempt to keep up with who’s who.

The adorable Groot has a different form, but is still voiced by Vin Diesel and retains that “I am Groot” catchphrase.

Star-Lord, Gamora, Drax, Rocket and baby Groot bring new charm to the sequel. The original 2014 film offered unexpected Marvel pleasures so this movie comes with great expectations.

Is it as good as that? Yes and no.

Special effects and fight scenes ratchet up the tension and the visual joy. New information on the history of each character adds depth.

However, as a staff member at Stratford East Picturehouse said, none of this really moves the Guardians forward in their story.

It feels a little too long at two hours and 16 minutes. I peeked at my watch a couple of times.

Having “Vol 2” in the title really annoys me and I made a funny clucking sound as I typed it.

Overall, it’s an attempt to make a big blockbuster out of a small story. Therefore, that intimate feel I love about the Marvel comics feels lost in the attempt to make everything big and important.

Stan Lee’s cameo is one of his best. The music will all feel familiar and comforting to those of us who grew up with Marvel.

I liked it but I wasn’t as wowed by it as I was by “Guardians”. Lots of stars have super moments, but I never experienced that warm and fuzzy feeling that was part of watching “Guardians” in 2014.

Stratford East Picturehouse was full of people who clearly loved it, unconditionally.

I have now reached the milestone of 620 reviews on this blog. When I started it in late 2009, I gave it a year. It’s provided me with so many great contacts, new friends and delightful experiences.

It makes me a bit sad that the dear friend who encouraged me start doing this died in 2010. Thank you, Ken d’Albenas. We’ll never have that experience of wrestling with Zimmer frames in the home for old folks that we used to joke about. You taught me so much and I am grateful that I knew you so well and for so long.

Responses

  1. Beautifully written


Leave a Reply

Categories

