Posted by: greercn | June 15, 2017

Wonder Woman

Pacifist, female-centred and very entertaining, DC has finally made a film that challenges the dominance of Marvel, in the comics translated to live action genre.

You get three movies in one. Wonder Woman’s early years are shown as part of an idyllic female-only land of Themyscira. Connie Nielsen and Robin Wright are here and both are very good.

Lilly Aspell and Emily Carey are outstanding as the young Diana and smooth the transition to Gal Gadot as the adult Wonder Woman.

The accents of the adults are all over the place and I found this irritating.

Once Chris Pine’s Steve Trevor crashes into the world of women, Diana decides to go fight war. The next section is set in London.

Then, we are off to occupied Belgium during WW1. Sidekicks played by Said Taghmaoui, Ewen Bremner and Eugene Brave Rock add laughter and thoughtful comments.

Elena Anaya is moving and sinister, in a smaller part.

Patty Jenkins directs a cast that is so enormous that it took me a second viewing to tell everyone apart. It feels radical to see a comic hero story based on a strong woman. This will lift the aspirations of younger women and that’s an unusual achievement.

It’s a shame it’s all written by men, but you can’t have everything. Could I hope that the sequel will be written by women?

The very-packed Stratford East Picturehouse audience all loved it and there were far more women present than is usual for new films.

Much will be written about the feminism, science and poison research, political decisions and war. Each is worthy of a long piece of writing.

I have a few issues. The costumes seem to owe more to “Xena: Warrior Princess” and to “Game of Thrones” than they do to traditional and modern reworkings of “Wonder Woman”.

In addition, the decision to relocate the action to World War One creates problems, for me. The most famous Wonder Woman stories featured World War Two.

And that Belgian village is clearly in England. You can CGI scenes with a heavy hand but you still can’t disguise locations.

It’s the first of a new franchise and it’s setting up a whole raft of situations. I am willing to give the sequel a chance. You don’t get enough messages that are kind and aspirational for women and I welcome the ideas here, even if the reality occasionally feels crowded, clunky, male-written and overly dependent on technology.

Responses

  1. I’ve heard quite a few good reviews about WW. Think this might inspire me to actually go and see it…

    • It’s not a perfect movie but it’s great to have a strong female star and a strong female director.

      • Yeah, so rare these days across all forms of media. Part of the reason why my main “hero” in my upcoming book is female!

    • Somehow – I have no idea how – I have lost your comment on POTC. It was a great comment. I am so sorry. Please comment again and I promise to be more careful.

      • Hahaha, too funny! Basic gist was PotC never hooked me. I’m a lover of those type of genre films but couldn’t get into PotC. I sometimes feel like the only person in the universe who doesn’t like it, so I was very happy to read a less than positive review. 😋


Leave a Reply

Categories

