Posted by: greercn | December 28, 2017

Murder On The Orient Express (2017)

Kenneth Branagh takes on this old Agatha Christie story that has its focus on a murder on the luxurious Orient Express train.

Does he bring anything to this that Sidney Lumet didn’t do in his 1974 version of this tale?

It’s all very pretty. Jerusalem looks lovely as does Istanbul.

And some of those long views from just under the ceilings of the railway carriages towards the suspects are really sensational.

Costumes, train details and all the snow are absolutely gorgeous.

Branagh is just physically wrong as Hercule Poirot, but you forget that within 20 minutes of the opening scene.

The all-star cast features terrific performances. For me, Johnny Depp and Willem Dafoe stand out although this is a very talented ensemble and Branagh is able to give each of them a moment to shine in.

It went on slightly too long. If you’ve missed it, don’t worry. It will be on TV very soon.

Twists and turns have been added so you will be surprised, even if you know the story well.

I liked it. It gave my brain a little holiday, which I welcomed.


Responses

  1. I like your summary comment: “it gave my brain a little comment”. Thats how I felt. Branagh was mis-cast and hogs the limelight, but overall, an entertaining adaptation of a timeless classic. BTW, its been lovely to stay in touch during the year and thanks for dropping in occasionally to cinemusefilms. Have a wonder New Year.

  2. …wonderful…

  3. Thank you! I wrote that it gave my brain a little holiday and a gremlin stuck in “comment” instead. Lovely to be in touch with you and to see your kind comments and have a truly wonderful 2018.


Leave a comment

Categories