Posted by: greercn | January 12, 2018

The Greatest Showman

Hugh Jackman is an amazing actor, singer and dancer. His charisma could create a new power source. This movie is a treat for the senses and will appeal to anyone who has ever been thrilled by the circus.

P.T. Barnum rises from nothing to marry his true love. Michelle Williams lifts Charity Barnum beyond sweetness and light and injects grit and great dancing to the role.

Meanwhile, Barnum builds a circus team, including Zac Efron and Zendaya. Those two light up every scene they are in.

Rebecca Ferguson is terrific as Jenny Lind.

All the songs here are lovely. It’s great to hear original music that you hum when you leave the cinema.

My friend and I really liked this, as did the Stratford East Picturehouse audience.

Having read up on the life of Barnum, there are many other movies that could be made about his remarkable life.

For now, this is a cheerful film with sufficient depth and pain to remind you how human we all are.

Jackman deserves to win a lot of awards for this. I hope he does.


Responses

  1. I thought this movie was a lot of fun and the songs were great.

    • I thought that too!

  2. Off to see it this weekend, can’t wait!

    • I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Let me know!

      • Love it! But more importantly, so did my partner. I say that because I have a habit of taking him to see ‘duff’ movies, and he just sits there squirming, vowing never again. Glad this one was a good judgement call!

  3. I am so glad you both enjoyed it!


Leave a comment

Categories